Just Write!

Prompt #7:  Author Kate DiCamillo told me once to clear her brain for writing, she does something called Morning Pages. I think it’s from the book THE ARTIST’S WAY.  You basically just sit down and let all your thoughts flow and you do not take your hand off the page.

For instance, my morning pages might read:

“I like my coffee. It is a pretty day. Buzz, not thinking of anything now. What will I write about? I feel a little scared. whoops, gosh. this exercise is stupid but if it clears my monkey brain of noise, i’m happy to do it. sigh. what would i do if i won the lottery  buy a big house and make it a kibbutz for troubled girls who want to go to school/university and turn their lives around. take turns with chores. cook healthy from organic garden. support each other’s dreams. i need another cup of coffee.”

You just write as long or little as you want.  Notice I don’t pay attention to grammar.  I just write and because I’m always thinking about my stories I usually find my way into them.

Today, give it a try.  Sit down and write whatever comes out.  Shoot for 1 -2 pages.  It doesn’t have to make any sense.  Let your thoughts lead you.  Some people believe this exercise clears their thoughts so their characters and stories can come to the surface.  Others say it just helps not to have a blank page.  What do you think?

There are so many stories to tell about the wonderment and beauty of nature. Time to clear my thoughts and see where my thoughts will lead me. Time to write. Thank you for the inspiration.

 The wonderment and beauty of nature has so much to offer for the five senses.  So much beauty to see, hear, smell, taste, and touch.  With such busy, hectic lives that many of us live, taking the time to enjoy nature is a family activity that should be enjoyed more frequently.

Each of the four seasons have unique wonderment to appreciate.  Springtime is  a time of new beginnings.  The deciduous trees began to bud and slowly turn to many shades of green leaves.

 

About Prairie Garden Girl

I am a wife who is adored by my Sweet Perry. Together we are parents to five boys and grandparents to seven unique grands. Pa Perry and Oma Sue love instilling the love of learning in the hearts of Johannah, Joshua & Jaxon; Henry & Charlotte and Lily & Lane. I am a reader. I am an aspiring children's picture book writer. I am a creator who sews and paints with acrylics and watercolors and sketches with colored pencil. I am an educator to hundreds of students, throughout the years. I am a cyclist on a pink Marin Portofina, and a 5K jogger. Perry and I are organic gardeners and enjoy homesteading on the Illinois prairie. Life is a beautiful ride with my Sweet P. Together, Perry and I feel life is a journey filled with joy. We want to live our lives by leaving the world a better place.
This entry was posted in Writing Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

