The March Madness Writing Contest by Susanna Leonard Hill

Suzy Leopold

Word Count: 330

March 22, 2014

Farmer Erick and His Three Sons

It all began . . . Once upon a time, long, long ago on the fertile, rolling fields of the prairie in the Midwest state of Illinois.  There lived Farmer Erik and his three sons: Jak, Blew, and Hanzule.

One fine, Spring morning, Farmer Erik made a request of his three sons, “Who will help me plant three rows of corn, carrots and potatoes in our family garden today?”  “Not I,” replied Jak.  “I must plant three rows of beanstalks today.”  “Not I,” declared Blew.  “I must tend to the three sheep in the meadow today.”  “Not I,” responded Hanzuel.  “I must hike three miles in the woods today.”

Much to the disappointment of Farmer Erik, he meandered down the garden path, by himself. He sowed three rows each of corn, carrots and potatoes in the rich soil of the family garden.

Over time, Farmer Erik made additional requests of his sons asking for help with the watering, weeding and hoeing in the family garden.  Much to his dismay, Farmer Erik received the same response from Jak, Blew and Hanzuel, “Not I; not I; not I.”

As Spring turned to Summer, the three rows each of corn, carrots and potatoes grew and flourished as Farmer Erik tended to the family garden by himself.

“Soon it will be time to gather a bountiful harvest for our family table,” stated Farmer Erik to his three sons.  Farmer Erik hesitantly made a third request of his sons, “Who will help me with harvesting of the corn, carrots and potatoes today?”  Finally, realizing their Father was a good man, a caring Dad, and a hard working farmer who needed their support, the boys apologetically, obediently, and gratefully expressed, “I will,”replied Jak.  “I will,” declared Blew.  “I will,”responded Hanzuel.

With much respect, regard and admiration, for each other, Farmer Erik, Jak, Blew and Hanzuel trekked down the garden path, to harvest as a team, thankful for the clever, important and wise lesson of family cooperation.

http://susannahill.blogspot.com/2014/03/the-march-madness-writing-contest-is.html

About Prairie Garden Girl

I am a wife who is adored by my Sweet Perry. Together we are parents to five boys and grandparents to seven unique grands. Pa Perry and Oma Sue love instilling the love of learning in the hearts of Johannah, Joshua & Jaxon; Henry & Charlotte and Lily & Lane. I am a reader. I am an aspiring children's picture book writer. I am a creator who sews and paints with acrylics and watercolors and sketches with colored pencil. I am an educator to hundreds of students, throughout the years. I am a cyclist on a pink Marin Portofina, and a 5K jogger. Perry and I are organic gardeners and enjoy homesteading on the Illinois prairie. Life is a beautiful ride with my Sweet P. Together, Perry and I feel life is a journey filled with joy. We want to live our lives by leaving the world a better place.
This entry was posted in Writing Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The March Madness Writing Contest by Susanna Leonard Hill

  1. Erika W says:

    Oh I LOVE it. Farming definitely takes a whole team effort. Great job in bringing that all together in a fractured fairy tale!

    Like

  2. Juliana Lee says:

    Farmer Erik was a very patient man, wasn’t he? I wondered if he would leave his sons out in the final scene, so glad he didn’t have to.

    Like

  3. You’d need a lot of patience for3 lazy boys to come around! Nice job!

    Like

  4. Cecilia says:

    I always wished someone would help the little red hen and she did feed her chicks even though they did not help either so I found this really sweet and a much more hopeful and rewarding end to the original. well done

    Like

  5. Commented on Susanna’s blog…but came here as well…great story…loved that the sons helped their dad before it was too late.:)

    Like

    • The boys finally realized the lessons Farmer Erik taught his three sons. I thank you for reading my first fractured fairy tale and your words of encouragment. I am thankful for the writing challenge hosted by Susanna .

      Like

  6. Alenat says:

    I’m glad that his sons wished up and helped their dad out in the end. Fun take on the story.

    Like

  7. I love the setting for your fractured tale!

    Like

Leave a Reply

