Punxsutawney Phyllis

This message is being brought to you by, the one and only Punxsutawney Phyllis!

Punxsutawney Phyllis

Punxsutawney Phyllis

Monday, February 2nd, 2015 is a special day!

Do you know why?

Groundhog Day is celebrated every year on the 2nd of February and was first celebrted in a little town of Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania in 1887.

This special groundhog is my Uncle Punxsutawney Phil!

On February 2nd he makes a weather prediction . . . Will spring arrive early? OR Will there be six more weeks of winter?

Six more weeks of

Early spring or . . .

Six more weeks of winter?

Six more weeks of winter?

We will find out when Uncle Phil comes out of his burrow!

Do you know that February 2nd, 2015 is also another special day?

It is Punxsutawney Phyllis Day!

That’s ME!

Presenting the one and only Punxsutawney Phyllis!

Presenting the one and only Punxsutawney Phyllis!

Ten years ago, a book about ME was written by Susanna Leonard-Hill.

Punxsutawney Phyllis

Susanna is hosting a Birthday Bonanza for ME! You and my writerly friends, authors and illustrators are invited to celebrate my tenth birthday.

In honor of my birthday, Suzy Leopold is celebrating ME with a Haiku Poem . . .

Phyllis is my name!

A special groundhog I am!

Celebrate my tenth!

Check out this video of ME, Phyllis, as I read the Haiku Poem that Suzy wrote:

And one more poem, Suzy wrote for me. It is a Limerick Poem . . . 

To you Phyllis, the birthday girl: I celebrate your tenth with this silly ode.

During the last decade, it was hoped for a predictionof an early spring, however it just snowed.

Every year you attempted to bring an early spring our way; thank you for the efforts you continued to show.

Boys and girls everywhere were ready to play outdoors under the sun.

Riding bikes and playing hide and go seek would be so much fun.

However, once again, winter continues to linger,so it must be time for me to find a new zip code.

Come join ME for some chocolate cake at my Birthday Bonanza.

HaPpY BiRtHdAy Phyllis! Ten Years Old.

HaPpY BiRtHdAy Phyllis! Ten Years Old.

You can find out more about this contest and author Susanna Leonard Hill at her web site and blog spot.

The End

  The End

Susanna spells her pretty name with TWO letter ns. Susanna Leonard Hill susannahill.blogspot.com

Susanna spells her pretty name with TWO letter ns.
Susanna Leonard Hill
susannahill.blogspot.com

 

 

 Happy Birthday Phyllis!

About Prairie Garden Girl

I am a wife who is adored by my Sweet Perry. Together we are parents to five boys and grandparents to seven unique grands. Pa Perry and Oma Sue love instilling the love of learning in the hearts of Johannah, Joshua & Jaxon; Henry & Charlotte and Lily & Lane. I am a reader. I am an aspiring children's picture book writer. I am a creator who sews and paints with acrylics and watercolors and sketches with colored pencil. I am an educator to hundreds of students, throughout the years. I am a cyclist on a pink Marin Portofina, and a 5K jogger. Perry and I are organic gardeners and enjoy homesteading on the Illinois prairie. Life is a beautiful ride with my Sweet P. Together, Perry and I feel life is a journey filled with joy. We want to live our lives by leaving the world a better place.
This entry was posted in Illustration Inspiration, Photography Inspiration, Reading Inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Punxsutawney Phyllis

  1. Cutest puppet haiku show ever 🙂 I think I’ll need some of that chocolate cake to get through 6 more weeks of winter!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That was AWESOME, Suzy! Phyllis was riveted to every moment of your puppet show all about her! She loved it! Excellent Haiku and limerick! And I think I’m with you on the new zip code idea – that may well be why we never seem to get an early spring! 🙂 Thanks so much for joining in the fun! Happy Groundhog Day!

    Like

  3. Heather Dent says:

    That puppet is super adorable.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aah, Heather! Your compliment is appreciated. Such fun to create Susanna Leonard Hill’s main character, Phyllis as a stick puppet. Thank you for stopping by to read all about Punxsutawney Phyllis tenth birthday bonanza.

      Like

  4. I love your Phyllis puppet! And your haiku! And your limerick! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

