Part I Mentor Texts for Writers

Marcie Flinchum Atkins Children’s and YA Writer, invited me to be a guest blogger. Marcie is a fellow GROGGER. I appreciate the opportunity to share with the many readers of Marcie’s blog.

Mentor Text Definition
Mentor texts are books and literature that students can read, relate to, study, and reread again for a variety of instructional purposes.

A Favorite Quote
Never hesitate to imitate another writer. Imitation is part of the creative process for someone learning an art or craft. Bach and Picasso didn’t spring full-blown as Bach and Picasso; they needed models. This is especially true of writing.
~William Zinsser

Mentor Texts for Writers: How Suzy Leopold Uses Mentor Texts

Gingerbread for Liberty How a German Baker Helped Win the American Revolution
Gingerbread for Liberty How a German Baker Helped Win the American Revolution

IMG_2700

IMG_2701

Amazing cut-paper illustrations by Vincent X. Kirsch
Amazing cut-paper illustrations by Vincent X. Kirsch
Interesting End Papers
Interesting End Papers

Published by Prairie Garden Girl

I am a wife who is adored by my Sweet Perry. Together we are parents to five boys and grandparents to seven unique, sweet, and sometimes sassy grands. Pa Perry and Oma Sue love instilling the love of learning in the hearts of Johannah, Joshua & Jaxon; Henry & Charlotte, and Lily & Lane. I am a reader. I am a children's picture book writer and enjoy writing fiction and nonfiction stories. I am a creator who sews and paints with acrylics and watercolors and sketches with colored pencils. I am an educator to hundreds of students, throughout the years. I am a cyclist on a pink Marin Portofina, and a 5K walker. Perry and I are organic gardeners and enjoy homesteading on the Illinois prairie. Life is a beautiful ride with my Sweet P. Together, Perry and I feel life is a journey filled with joy. We want to live our lives by leaving the world a better place.

Leave a comment