I Remember

Prompt #5: Remembering Poem

• Write, don’t type, the words “I remember…” 10 times in list format on a sheet of paper. Think of a specific event from your childhood—the place, the people, the smells, the things that were strange—and write each recollection after the words I remember.

• Cut each I remember into individual slips so it looks like my crazy mess of fortunes. Sort, order and reorder your slips of paper to cultivate the most meaning.

• When you are happy… type and read aloud to your cat, dog or window.

I remember . . . To always trust in our Heavenly Father and express gratitude for many blessings.

I remember . . . The first day I met my Sweet P. and our wedding day.

I remember . . . Lily pads floating in my inflatable, kiddie, swimming pool.

I remember . . . Spending time at our family cabin on Lake Waverly.

I remember . . . Always being interested in becoming a teacher.

I remember . . . Grandma always making me feel like I was special.

I remember . . . The day my family moved from MN to TX.

I remember . . . The day[s] my babies were born.

I remember . . . Our sweet pets, Chien and Boomer.

I remember . . . Riding my pink Marin Portofina 55 miles.

Published by Prairie Garden Girl

I am a wife who is adored by my Sweet Perry. Together we are parents to five boys and grandparents to seven unique, sweet, and sometimes sassy grands. Pa Perry and Oma Sue love instilling the love of learning in the hearts of Johannah, Joshua & Jaxon; Henry & Charlotte, and Lily & Lane. I am a reader. I am a children's picture book writer and enjoy writing fiction and nonfiction stories. I am a creator who sews and paints with acrylics and watercolors and sketches with colored pencils. I am an educator to hundreds of students, throughout the years. I am a cyclist on a pink Marin Portofina, and a 5K walker. Perry and I are organic gardeners and enjoy homesteading on the Illinois prairie. Life is a beautiful ride with my Sweet P. Together, Perry and I feel life is a journey filled with joy. We want to live our lives by leaving the world a better place.

Leave a comment